#211216 Finland Day 1: Grocery Shopping in Rovaniemi & Ranua Wildlife Zoo

img_47111

It is currently 5th March 2017 and after 23456789 years I am FINALLY blogging about my Finland trip.

We boarded Finnair at around 11.30 pm on 20th December. Since it was a midnight flight, I spent almost the whole flight sleeping… It was a pity because I couldn’t enjoy much of the on-board facilities like movies or shows… 😦

img_21261

At about 10:21 AM SG time breakfast was served. It was a rather simple meal consisting of a croissant, sausage, tomato, mushroom omelette, baked beans, yoghurt and some fruit. TBH this wasn’t a very delicious breakfast but I guess it was better than having no breakfast at all…

Shortly after, the flight arrived in Helsinki Airport. We still had to take a domestic flight to Rovaniemi before our itinerary could officially start.

img_21351

Once we touched down, the first place we went to was… I actually don’t know the name of the place it was just a place full of snow and I remembered there was a theatre there?? Basically we went there to take some photos of the snow (come to think of it I actually don’t see the point of stopping there maybe it was so that we could experience some snow before getting food?? I don’t know OMG my memories have become so fuzzy rip) and okay we did end up with some pretty photos and selfies.

img_21281
The whole ground was filled with snow!!!
img_21321
Me trying very hard to get a Tumblr photo of my Timberland boots LOL

It got very cold although the sky started to brighten (in Rovaniemi, the days only last for 3-4 hours so it was really hard to get bright photos and I was glad I didn’t live there because I prefer day time than night time) so we got up the bus and went shopping for grocery/snacks at the mall nearby.

img_21391
The vegetables were displayed really prettily

img_21441

I got this cinnamon round pastry and it was so good. Chewy, rich in cinnamon and not too sweet (I have this thing against overly sweet stuff). I would have preferred it if it was warm though, because this one was cold since it was displayed in the grocery store under the pastry/bread section. Imagine how delicious it would be if it was warmed up ahhh. The store had a wide variety of pastries though which I was impressed about.

img_24611 We also bought this and since the words were in Finnish we couldn’t understand it but we assumed it was milk so we bought it to drink, and the first time we bought it I didn’t drink it but my mom did and she said she liked it as it was really creamy and rich… Different from usual milk… And you know why? We later found out during the last day of the trip that it wasn’t milk but DOUBLE creamer… RIP HAHAHA once my mom found out she felt so queasy that she stopped us from talking about it any more LOL hahahaha.

Anyways,,,

After that we made our way to Ranua Wildlife Zoo where we had lunch before beginning our zoo adventure!!

img_21621

The lunch was buffet-style. There were salad, vegetable patty, mashed potatoes with berry sauce, salmon cream soup, reindeer meat etc. In my opinion Finnish cuisine isn’t among my favourite cuisines but it’s cool to try food from other countries. And yes, REINDEER MEAT. I thought it was mutton but after lunch someone told me it was reindeer meat and I felt so horrible because I like reindeers since they are so pretty… But reindeer meat is a common dish in Finland. They even sell reindeer jerky… But taste-wise I didn’t really like it as it was too tough and salty for me. Oh yes, the drink was berry-flavoured and was quite refreshing.

img_21651

Dessert was mint ice cream sandwiches, whipped cream and rainbow sprinkles. I liked the ice cream but the sandwich base was meh. And I didn’t finish the whipped cream because I can’t eat too much whipped cream without feeling queasy… I can’t understand the people that like spraying whipped cream into their mouths straight from it’s can…

After lunch, we began our wildlife adventure!

img_21691

img_21761
I don’t know what animal this is but it reminded me of my cat Lychee with that fat ass ❤

img_21781

Halfway through the journey we came across this ice bar which was situated in an igloo and had a colourfully lighted ‘Ice Bar’ sign beside it’s entrance. We went inside to take a look and surprisingly, it was warmer inside than outside though there weren’t any heaters inside which I assumed was because the wind was blocked from the igloo’s walls.

One thing that I didn’t like about this trip to the zoo was that the snow on the ground was melting and hence it was EXTREMELY slippery to walk on, there were instances where we had to hold on to the railings and slide down the path since it was too slippery to walk normally, and many times where I almost fell… The sliding was scary and I didn’t dare to slide down at first but once I got braver it was actually quite fun… Like skateboarding?

img_21851

img_21911
Super adorable doggos

At this point in time my phone died from the cold (they tend to die even at 30% or random percentages since it was too cold) so I didn’t take any more photos but I’ll try my best to describe what we did after that.

After the animals we went inside the dining area to warm up (it was VERY cold) then it got dark again. Our last activity for the day was husky riding/driving. Yes. Driving. According to CTC Travel (the agency we booked our tour from), that was the first time they organised a husky riding activity where tourists can control their huskies along the ride. There were 6 huskies per sled, and 2 people per sled. I went with dad and TBH I was a bit scared of controlling them as they went quite fast and were super excited and jumpy so I let Dad control the huskies for both parts of the husky ride LOL. He had to stand at the back and steer his body according to the direction he wanted them to go and press down on the brake if he wanted them to stop. The ride was quite short but it was fun!!

I got to touch the huskies and the ones in the enclosure were so mischievous… There were 3 huskies that came to people and try to steal hats or gloves hahaha but they were all really cute.

Dinner was at the hotel and was buffet-style. I had the runs and so I didn’t really enjoy dinner… I felt kinda sian because in Japan I also had the runs on the night there was buffet dinner but I recovered in time for dessert so… Bad start to the trip but at least I didn’t had stomachache again during the trip… That was all for Day 1 bye.

Leave a Reply

